Govardhan Math

Bhagvatpada Adi Shankaracharya established four monasteries in the four corners  of India.  2500 years ago, on the auspicious tenth day of the bright fortnight of the month of vasisakh, Bhagvatpada Adi Shankaracharya established the eastern monastery associated with Rigved called as “Poorvamnaya Sri Govardhan Math- Bhogavardhan Peetham”. Acharya Padmapada was ceremonDSC02970iously installed as the first Sankaracharya of Govardhan Math, . That very day- which goes down as a doubly significant day in the annually of this math for that had been hurried underground for fear of vandalisation by iconoclasts, got fresh  bodies made for them and consummated the process by installing them on the highly sacred Ratna simhasan ( a throne bedecked with precious jewels). He also ruled authoritatively that Shri  Jagannath Mahaprabhu and Goddess Vimala Devi be the male and female presiding  deities of Govardhan math respectively. More importantly, he revives the age old rituals and modes of worship that had long ceased to be. Not merely that, he also put in place a Bhoga mandapa right within the Jagannath temple to ensure easy access of devotees to Mahaprasad. Since that day right down to this day, the Shankarcharya of Govardhan math, Puri have been religiously handling their onerous responsibilities in respect of the unbroken maintenance of this great tradition.

The whole of the Eastern India viz. Bihar, Jharkhand, Chittasgarh, Andhra till Rajmahendri, Orissa, Bengal, Nepal, Bangladesh (Undivided India), Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Sikkim, Bhutan, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram, Uttarapradesh till Prayaga including Gaya and Varanasi are considered as the territory of Sri Govardhan Peetham.

This math is situated in the region called Swargadwar, which is one of the main attractions of the town of Puri.